King's Kars

3.5

Hours of Operation

Sales
Monday
9:00am–5:00pm
Tuesday
9:00am–5:00pm
Wednesday
9:00am–5:00pm
Thursday
9:00am–5:00pm
Friday
9:00am–5:00pm
Saturday
9:00am–12:00pm
Sunday
Closed

Cars on the lot

20 cars available See all Cars

Dealership reviews

3.5
Rating and reviews of King's Kars are from Cars.com and DealerRater.com

16 reviews

Amazing customer service!

5.0
by Hazel K. on Aug 07, 2020

I came in looking for a car and even though I did not find the perfect one. Leon and Nick helped out and answered all of my questions about the cars.

Customer service 5.0 Buying process 5.0 Quality of repair 5.0 Overall experience 5.0 Does recommend this dealer. Did not purchase a vehicle.

Horrible experience

1.0
by Erika on Jul 15, 2020

I had no idea until after I purchased my car that it had a junkyard engine in it. I should have known when I asked about going to get it checked by a mechanic and the owner acted irritated. I ended up being impulsive and trusting his selling skills. Instead of good skills I found out he was a scammer. At the very least a liar. I would highly recommend other people read reviews like I later did. Avoid at all costs.

Customer service 1.0 Buying process 1.0 Quality of repair 1.0 Overall experience 1.0 Does not recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.

Horrible Customer Service

1.0
by Disappointed on May 17, 2019

Brought my car in for an oil change...a short time later my car broke down on I-380. Found out from another mechanic that they had not put the oil cap on correctly and I had oil all over my engine, which caused a belt to slip and overheat my car. Contacted them and they said they would call back but did not. A week later, my compressor died due to the damage done by the oil. Went to the shop and they said they would not do anything about it. The damage, that I know of so far, is up to about $800...due to their mechanic not putting an oil cap back on during a $25 oil change. They took no responsibility.

Customer service 1.0 Quality of repair 1.0 Overall experience 1.0 Does not recommend this dealer. Did not purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Sorry for your inconvenience. You had told me that you had the vehicle for over 3 weeks after the oil change before this all happened. If oil was spraying all over the engine and you drive 80 miles a day there is no way you wouldn't have smelt the oil burning on the engine. I am certain that something happened after the fact that your oil was changed here. If your serp. belt broke it would have potential done damage along with mess up your A/C compressor. The prices you are quoting me to change a belt, clean an engine bay, do a oil change and change a compressor seem extremely high. Again, I apologize for the car issues you are having especially during your wedding planning. If we would have had a chance to fix the vehicle we would have, but just giving money back is not an option. King's Kars wishes you the best wedding possible. Read less

PLEASE AVOID USING THIS HORRIBLE DEALERSHIP

1.0
by Daniel on Feb 15, 2019

Bad customer service very aggressive people at this establishment they sell crappy car paid $400 as a down payment and got the car released to me and less than 24 hours it broke down had to jump start car was told battery was fine that was a lied they claim they change the radiator which was new but they couldn't see a bad belt then tried to charge me for the repair and then don't return the car back even though you have four days before payment is due and all your references check out. PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE they will have you on the edge they will not work with you to fix the issues when I was very open to fix the problem they will FU*K YOU OVER I will verify every comment personally please do not go to this place

Customer service 1.0 Buying process 1.0 Quality of repair 1.0 Overall experience 1.0 Does not recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Sorry Daniel. We never charged you for the belt repair. The only thing we asked for was the rest of the $300.00 that was owed to us as part of the down payment and proof of full coverage insurance. Both of which was in the contract that you signed. This was a buy here pay here contract that started out bad. It is for reasons like this that dealerships don't do the buy here pay here any more. Good Luck with your food delivery service.

Used cars

2.3
by Gene Stewart on Jan 26, 2018

I found that no one came out when we pulled in to the car lot and got out and looked at a pickup that was rusty and in bad shape. I drove from Mt Pleasant, IA and wasted my time. Pictures did not show the overall condition of vehicle.

Customer service 2.0 Overall facilities 3.0 Overall experience 2.0 Does not recommend this dealer. Did not purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Gene, I apologize for not having someone come out to help. We are a small family owned business that runs shorter business hours. My father has recently had surgery and we are running a little slower. We can work by appointment, or if I ever know someone is coming in from out of town I would make sure to personally be there. For the rust on the truck, I am sure we are asking under $3000.00 for anything in that condition. Its no excuse for not having someone help you, I apologize. Have a great day and God Bless.

Nebraska Bound Basketballer

5.0
by Baller on Jul 28, 2017

Found a Great car for my future trips to and from Nebraska. Nick was super friendly and my Mom was very impressed. Got the car I wanted. Thanks for being so helpful.

Customer service 5.0 Buying process 5.0 Overall facilities 5.0 Overall experience 5.0 Does recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Thank you very much for your business, I hope you enjoy your Monte Carlo. Good luck in Nebraska and have a great season.

Great experience overall

5.0
by Jas on Mar 21, 2017

We were looking for an inexpensive used car and found a great car for the price at Kings Kars. Leon was very laid back, friendly and helpful. When we noticed a couple of minor problems with the car, he offered to have them fixed at no cost and in the end we were very happy with the service and the vehicle!

Customer service 5.0 Buying process 5.0 Overall experience 5.0 Does recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Thank you very much. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know. - King's Kars

best place ever !!!

5.0
by tanner on Mar 24, 2015

The most painless buying experience I've ever had. Top quality vehicles and service. I am extremely pleased with my s.u.v. I just purchased from kings. Hands down the best service and quality in the cedar rapids area. The friendly cheap servicing after the sale is a plus. I highly recommend checking out kings Kars before going to "the big guys".

Customer service 5.0 Buying process 5.0 Overall facilities 5.0 Overall experience 5.0 Does recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Thank you for the comment. I hope you enjoy your Tahoe. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help. Good luck with your new twins:-)

Great Dealer

5.0
by David on Mar 21, 2014

The staff at King's Kars are friendly and sociable without seeming too pushy. I found them when I researched cars on this website and found a '96 Mercury Mystique 5-Speed Manual that only had ~80,000 miles on it. They offered a great price for a car with such low mileage and even arranged a refresher course with one of the employees on driving a stick. The buying process was quick and easy. I have been driving my new car for a couple months now and have had no problems with it. I live two hours from Marion and it was well worth the trip. When the time comes that I need another car, they'll be the first people I call. King's Kars is a good dealership. They are salespeople, but they won't try to push you into a car unless you are satisfied and comfortable with it. I was very pleased in my dealings with them and would gladly recommend them to anyone in Central Iowa who is currently shopping for a car.

Customer service 5.0 Buying process 5.0 Overall facilities 5.0 Overall experience 5.0 Does recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Thank you very much. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Buyer beware

1.0
by Julie on Mar 03, 2014

Bought a car from these folks - the engine blew in less than a year - they got the car back and have threatened to take me to court over the remainder of the loan. Well not sure, but seems that since they are trying to sell the car again - I wouldn't owe them anything. The car had so many other issues that I didn't feel it was worth over $3,000 to have a new engine put in it. They are very nasty to work with - and heaven help you if you can't get there on the due date of your payment (due to weather or whatever) - You will get a call before noon the next day. Overall, the worst experience I have ever had buying a car. After all - how many cars leak water from the dash when it rains. Or has 4 different types of tires on it when you buy it. Worst part is they charged 29.99% interest.... ridiculous. I even paid more than my payments monthly - until it died and I had to have it towed 120 miles - yeah over $500 there in a tow bill - and another $200 to have a reputable mechanic tell me what what wrong. He looked at it and strongly advised not to put a penny in it. After all I spent over $5,000 on it with purchase price, tires and repairs, towing and diagnosis. And they still want $1100 from me. I wouldn't recommend them if they were the last car dealer in town - I could have taken a cab everywhere I went and saved money and frustration! Avoid them like the plague!

Customer service 1.0 Buying process 1.0 Quality of repair 1.0 Overall facilities 1.0 Overall experience 1.0 Does not recommend this dealer. Did purchase a vehicle.
Dealer Responses

Sorry for your experience on your Buy Here Pay Here car. We do not and have never charged 29.99% interest. There are a lot of items that go into figuring out an interest rate on a vehicle, most important credit score. I would also like to state that we were never notified of any issues this customer was having with her vehicle. Maybe because it might have been past due? I offer a full service shop with discounted labor rates of $45.00 an hour on all Kings Kars vehicles. We are a local family owned business that tries to give people a second chance to reestablish there car credit.

The information on vehicles provided in this service is supplied by the seller or other third parties; Auto.com is not responsible for the accuracy of such information. Auto.com provides this service and materials without representations or warranties of any kind, either expressed or implied. See our terms of use for more details.